1st Conference of BUF

Programme Sessions - Day 1

Inauguration of the First Session of the Bangladesh Urban Forum

11.00 - 12.30 Hall of Fame
* Participatiion in the Inauguration Session is by invitation only

Chief Guest The Honourable Md. Zillur Rahman, President of the People's Republic of Bangladesh
Special Guests The Honourable Syed Ashraful Islam MP, Minister for Local Government, Rural Development and Cooperatives
The Honourable Abdul Mannan Khan MP, State Minister for Housing and Public Works
Mr. Neal Walker, Resident Representative, UNDP and
UN Resident Coordinator in Bangladesh
Mr. Abu Alam, Md. Shahid Khan, Secretary of the Local Government Division, Ministry of Local Government, Rural Development and Cooperatives, and Chair of the Organizing Committee of the BUF
Dr Khondaker Showkat Hossain, Secretary of the Ministry of Housing and Public Works, and co-Chair of the Organizing Committee of the BUF
Chair The Honourable Jahangir Kabir Nanak MP, State Minister for Local Government, Rural Development and Cooperatives
Opening of the Urban Exhibition
12.30 - 13.00 Milky Way
Chief Guest: The Honourable Md. Zillur Rahman, President of the People's Republic of Bangladesh
Urbanization: The Engine of Growth
14.00 - 15.50 Carnival
Chief Guest: Mr Mostafa Farooq Mohammad, MP
Chair: Prof Amirul Islam Chowdhury, Department of Economics, United Internatiional University
Speaker: Dr Hossain Zillur Rahman, Executive Chairman, PPRC
Ms Elisha Muzzini & Ms Lalita Moorty, World Bank
Panel: Prof Sarwar Jahan, MP
Mr Anisul Huq, President SAARC Chamber of Commerce and Industries
Dr Zahid Hossain, Senior Economist, World Bank
Prof Syed Abu Hasnath, Boston University
14.00 - 15.50 Windy Town
Chief Guest: The Honourable Nurul Islam Nahid MP, Minister for Education
Chair: A K M Abdul Awal Mozumder, Sec. Ministry of Primary and Mass Education
Speaker: Dr Manzoor Ahmed, Senior Advisor, BUIED, BRAC
Panel: Mr Alamgir, Director General, Bureau of Non Formal education, MOPME
Dr Abul Barakat, Professor, Department of Economics, Dhaka University
Mr Kazi Rafiqul Alam, Chair, CAMPE
Ms Doli, an Ex. BEHTRUWC Project Learner
MDG Policy Dialogue
14.00 - 15.50 Media Bazar
Chief Guest: Prof Dr Shamsul Alam, Member, General Economics Division, Planning Commission
Chair: Dr Selim Jahan, Head of Poverty, UNDP Headquarters, NewYork
Speaker: Dr Binayak Sen, Senior Research Fellow, Bangladesh Institute of Development Studies
Panel: Mayor Md. Ekramul Hoque Titu, Mymensingh Municipality
Mr Khushi Kabir, Coordinator, Nijera Kori
Barrister Sara Hossain, Bangladesh Legal Services and Trust (BLAST)
Urban Land Tenure & Housing
16.00 - 18.00 Windy Town

Housing & Land Tenure

Chief Guest: Mr A K Mozammel Huq MP and Chair, Parliamentary Standing Committee on Ministry of Land
Chair: Dr Hameeda Hossain, Chairperson, Ain O Salish Kendra
Speaker: Ms Salma A Shafi, Architect & Planner, Centre for Urban Studies
Panel: Mr G A Jaynal Abedin Bhuiyian
Mr M A Gaffer, Adviser, GIZ
Mr Michael Slingsby, Urban Expert
Mr John Arnold, Freelance Consultant
Dr. Shakil Akhter, BUET
International Best Practices
16.00 - 18.00 Media Bazar
Chair: Ms Mariko Sato, Chief, Bangkok Office, UN-HABITAT
Presenters: Ms Diane Archer, Asian Coalition for Housing Rights, Thailand
Ms Nasima Shaikh, Swayam Shikshan Prayog, Mumbai
Mr Anura Dassanayake, Lunawa Lake Environment & Community Development Project, Sri Lanka
Ms Lajana Manandhar, LUMANTI, Nepal
16.00 - 18.00 Green View
Chief Guest: Mr M A N Siddiq, Secretary (In Charge), Roads Division
Ministry of Communications
Chair: Prof A. M. M. Shafiullah,
Vice Chancellor, Ahsanullah Uniersity of Science and Technology
Speaker: Prof Alamgir Mujibul Huq, Department of Civil Engineering, BUET
Panel: Mr. Abdul Huq, Director, FBCCI
Prof Hasib Mohammad Ahsan, Director, Accident Research Center, BUET
Mr Khondoker Neaz Rahman, Project Manager, BKP, UNDP
Mr Ashraful Alam Sarker, Transport Economist
Mayors' Roundtable
16.00 - 18.00 Harmony
Moderator Mr Monzurul Ahsan Bulbul, Boishakhi Television
Welcome Remarks Mayor Selina Hayat Ivy, Narayanganj City Corporation
Key note Presenter Mayor Azmatullah Khan, Tongi Municipality and President
Municipal Association Bangladesh
Presenters Sharing of best practices and key challenges by Mayors
International Guests Mayor Linda P Gonzalez, Ligao City, Manila
Deputy Mayor U.L. Titus Perera, Colombo
Mr Dormani Poudyal, President, Municipal Association of Nepal